Reorganization Meeting & Election Congressional District 8 Republican Central Committee Thursday, December 16, 2021 Ft. Lupton, Colorado Recreation Center

- **1. Call to Order** at 5:08 pm by acting Chairman, JoAnn Windholz.
- 2. Invocation by Clark Bolser, Pledge

### 3. Identify Officers:

- A. Since Adams County has the larger number of registered Republicans, the Chairman of the current Adams County Republican Central Committee, JoAnn Windholz, will be Acting Chairman over the initial organizational meeting of the 8th Congressional District.
- B. Tom Van Lone was thanked for his gift of time to make this meeting possible

# 4. Appointments:

- A. The following positions were appointed by Acting Chairman, JoAnn.
  - 1. Acting Secretary: Lisa Smith
  - 2. Parliamentarian: Keith Maines
  - 3. Sergeant at Arms: Ben Nicholas
  - 4. Timekeeper: Craig Sullivan
  - 5. Rules Committee Chair: Kieth Maines
  - 6. Teller Committee Chair: Evan Underwood
  - 7. Credentials Committee Chair: Tom Van Lone from Weld County

**5. Reading of the Official Call**: A motion to suspend the reading of the call was made by Justin Buxman. The motion passed unanimously.

**6. Credentials:** Tom Van Lone reported that there were 31 voting members, which includes 6 proxies. A motion to adopt the credentials report was made by Justin Buxman. 2nd by Lyndsay Buxman. The motion passed unanimously.

## 7. Adoption of Bylaws:

- A. Ben Nicholas made a motion to consider the new CD 8 bylaws as "proposed" bylaws until the next meeting because some members received the bylaws on short notice. 2nd by Joe Janicky.
- B. Keith Maines reported on the proposed bylaws for CD 8.

C. Charles Bonniwell made a motion to amend Ben's motion. Ben Nicholas accepted. The new motion states that the current meeting will be under the governance of the state bylaws (for this meeting only) and any further work on the proposed bylaws will take place once the elected officers call their first meeting for CD 8. 2nd by Eric Renald. The motion passed unanimously.

### 8. Final Credentials Report:

- A. Tom LaVone reported that there were 23 voting members from Adams County (includes 5 proxies) and 10 voting members from Weld County (4 proxies). There are 13 guests
- B. Eric Renald questioned whether the proxies from Adams County included House District Chairs who are not voting members. The Chairman from Adams County confirmed that the proxies represented legitimate resident bonus members.

9. A motion was made by Justin Buxman to suspend the meeting until Larimer County is given a chance to be a part of this meeting as they are allowed to be. 2nd by Maria Weese

- A. Tom Van Lone explained that not notifying the small portion of Larimer County in CD 8 about this meeting was an inadvertent oversight due to the complexity of the calls. No one was intentionally missed. All County Chairs knew meetings would be held due to the re-organization.
- B. The Chairman of Larimar County was contacted and gave approval for the meeting to go forward without their presence.
- C. Justin Buxman rescinded his motion.

### **10. Election of Chairman:**

- A. Anil Mathia was nominated by Charles Bonniwell.
- B. Maria Weese was nominated.
- C. Vote was by paper ballot: Anil received 18 votes, Maria received 13 votes.
- D. Anil Mathai was elected the new Chairman

## 11. Election of Vice Chairman:

- A. Kaarl Hoopes was nominated by Ben Nicholas.
- B. Cody LaBlanc moved to close nominations and appoint Kaarl as Vice Chairman by acclamation

## 12. Election of Secretary:

- A. Lisa Smith was nominated by Kaarl Hoopes. Lisa withdrew her nomination.
- B. Lyndsey Buxman was nominated by Justin Buxman.

C. Barb Kirkmeyer made a motion to close nominations and appoint Lyndsey by acclamation. 2nd by Cody LaBlanc.

#### 13. Election to elect a Representative to the State Executive Committee:

- A. JoAnn Windholz was nominated by Charles Bonniwell
- B. Maria Weese was nominated by Stacy Kgeldgaard
- C. Vote was by paper ballot: JoAnn received 15 votes, Maria received 16 votes
- D. Maria Weese was elected as Representative to the State Executive Committee.

#### 14. Ratification of Vacancy Committee

A. Justin Buxman moved to make the Vacancy Committee the Central Committee of the Congressional District. 2nd by Cody LaBlanc. Approved by voice vote.

#### 15. Ratification of Notice and Actions:

A. Tom Van Lone moved the adoption of the following resolution:

*"Resolved*, that 8th Congressional District Republican Central Committee does ratify the ruling of the Chair with respect to the sufficiency of the call, does ratify the actions of Acting Chairman in sending the call and notice of the organizational meeting's time and location on behalf of Adams and Weld County District Republican Central Committees, and declares that the 8<sup>th</sup> Congressional District Central Committee is fully authorized and empowered to conduct the necessary business of this organizational meeting as required by Party rules and provisions of Colorado law.

*It is further Resolved*, that all actions of both this Adams County Republican Central Committee and Weld County Republican Central Committee including the election of the 8<sup>th</sup> Congressional District Central Committee officers, the election of the Representative to the State Executive Committee, the designation of vacancy committees, and all other business conducted in connection with the same, are hereby ratified. "

- B. 2nd by Ben Nicholas
- C. The motion was approved

**15.** Authorization to Prepare and Approve Minutes: The newly elected 8th Congressional District officers were authorized to approve and make any necessary corrections to the minutes for this meeting, and the Secretary directed to complete the necessary paperwork regarding the election of officers and vacancy committees, and to file the same with the Colorado Republican Party, and the Colorado Secretary of State as required by law and Party rules.

#### 16. Other Business:

A. Bylaws Committee:

- a. Lyndsey Buxman made a motion to appoint a bylaws committee this evening.
- b. Anil asks reject the motion because the bylaws are traditionally made by the Chairman
- c. It was confirmed that the bylaws governing this meeting state that the Chairman is entitled to elect the bylaws committee.
- d. Lyndsay withdrew her motion.

**17. Adjournment**: A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Cody LaBlanc. 2nd by Kaarl Hoopes. Meeting was adjourned at 6:34 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Lisa Smith Acting Secretary